top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

How to style Super Wax


Moving to Africa is challenging for any European wardrobe.

First you need to ban anything leather, fur or silk and go for cotton and linen (not so glamour). Second you need to take extra extra care of your jewelry (sweat is their worst ennemy) and any luxury accessory like your pairs of Loubies.

If few months ago, I was told I was going to wear African prints outfits made with Super Wax, I would have laugh so hard I would break a rib. Same goes with braids hairstyles.

I am not going to lie: I'm not fond of colors, more specially of Super Wax garments. Because it is too "funky" for me.

However as people says there is first time in anything.

Then I tried. I loved it...

What is Super Wax?

African wax prints are omnipresent and common materials for clothing in Africa, especially West and Central Africa.

They are industrially produced, colorful cotton cloths with batik printing.

As everything in Fashion, these prints are part of a nonverbal way of communication among African women and believe it or not the quality of the fabric as well as the rarety of prints state your social status and wealth.

Simply because the one that can travel and have their own tailor are the richest.

For fashion lovers, a Super Wax fabric make the greatest statements, original and eye-catching.

How to rock it?

Personally this is the hardest type of outfit I have to style. Because there is a little step between traditional/banal and modern/cool.

If you want to stand out, accessories are key and black, dark grey or white leather jacket, the "touche finale".

Here I went for black and red accessories and black leather jacket as the main tone of the dress is Pink to make the whole outfit look "bad-ass".

Also, I love these Ray Ban aviator Sunglasses.

What do you think of this combo? Yay or nah?

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
bottom of page