top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Cooking class at Alain Ducasse School


Since I'm 12, I've been the cook in the family.

At a young age, I have to take over my mom and feed my siblings.

When I think about it now, I liked cooking.

Okay, my recipes were not elaborate but it was beyond rice and pasta.

I liked cooking because it was synonym of me sharing time with the ones I love, taking care of them and helping my mom out.

Then when I went to college and abroad, I became lazy. In addition to that I embrace the feminist trend of women have to be somewhere else than in a kitchen.

Well, I still believe in that moto but I'm also a firm believer that a grown-up woman should be able to feed herself in a healthy way instead of going to restaurants, ordering from home or heating frozen food.

Recently I'm back at cooking and am learning additional recipes mainly french cuisine.

Therefore when Press Officer invited me to take a cooking class with Chef Julian Mercier at the Alain Ducasse School, I was more than thrilled.

The menu was as followed (I won't translate because it sounds "more chic" in French):

Entrée

Quinoa aux herbes fraîches et citron confit

Crostini de tapenade et rouget

Pressé de foie gras et anguille fumée

Main course

Suprême de volaille au cidre Sassy, champignons des bois, vrai jus

Dessert

Chou croustillant aux pommes, sauce caramel au cidre Sassy

Well, 2 hours to get this done?

Impossible, right?

Well, I only learned how to cook the Suprême de volaille.

The Chef taught us few basis such as:

- How to hold the knife and cut onions like a Chef

- How to cut potatoes without cutting yourself

- How to handle oyster mushrooms

- The secret of making a great sauce

- How to dress a plate such as not saucing the meat for aesthetic reasons

Beyond that, I got to cook in a warm atmosphere and with great mates; I also discovered cider-based cocktails and I left with an apron with my name on it.

What can I ask more?

The next day, I was applying my new skills at home and felt great about it, more confident.

Now I'm positive about one thing: if you are passionate about food and cooking, you can make a great meal at home without ruining your wallet.

Conclusion: I will return for few more lessons, mainly for desserts because they are the real challenge for me.

And you, have you ever taken a cooking class? How does it goes?

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
bottom of page